Eternity Satisfies

I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Phil 4:12-13 NLT

I keep hearing this phrase “I’m content”. It is usually said by people who really aren’t content with where they are. “I’m not where I want to be, but this is where God has me and a has bigger plans for me.” Well, why are we content with where we are when we know God has more? Walk out the bigger plans He has for you, quit being content to sit on you hands while your plans pass by. I wish we could be okay with being discontent. Why would a full person ask for more food? Why would you offer water to someone with an already full glass? Being content with where you are is like taking your half empty glass and pouring it into a smaller glass, instead of filling it up. We listen to lies of the enemy saying where you are is good enough. Do you really believe that God would give you a glass to only be filled half way? He’s not a half empty god, He is the God of filling up and overflowing. I warn you though, don’t simply become content with full glasses.  He has bigger glasses He wants to fill for you. He doesn’t want you living off of full sippy cups, He’s got big gulps waiting on you. 

Well, where do I find content? Find it in the Lord. In the simplicity of Him being Good. That He’s has promised eternal life to believers. Who or what you find contentment in is who or what you worship. Being content in eternity rather that your situation is where you’ll find peace. Being okay with life sucking while worshipping a good God. My promise bigger than the capacity of the cup I’m holding. Do everything through Christ and He will give you strength. I can drink of Christ and be eternally satisfied, I eat of the Word and be everlastingly full. Be content with the God who fills the glass, not the glass itself. We get a promise from God and we try to sustain ourselves on it, rather than the God who made it. Let us always put God before the promise. 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

