Anchored to Set Sail

If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking. But when you ask him, be sure that your faith is in God alone. Do not waver, for a person with divided loyalty is as unsettled as a wave of the sea that is blown and tossed by the wind. Such people should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Their loyalty is divided between God and the world, and they are unstable in everything they do. (‭James‬ ‭1‬:‭5-8‬ NLT)

We’ve all been there. The place that feels like you have to hear from that one person. Where seems as though everything hinges on whether or not they reach out to you. You feel like your swinging from a string and their response will cut it, how they do so determines whether or not you fall into a pit of despair or a pool of refreshing water. While you wait you’re swinging between emotions of hopeful bliss and doubtful despair. Will they offer a job after that interview or will she say yes to coffee/will he ever ask me to coffee? It’s the most natural of human responses to situations we’re not sure about. Yet the most complicated. If mismanaged can lead to some pretty dark places. We let this happen when pursue something out of ambition rather than faith. Decisions made out of ambition and not faith are destined to fail. Ambition is trusting in the plans you’ve made, faith is trusting in plans God has made. Both seem grand and quite impossible, but only one is able to be fulfilled. When you start to achieve ambitious goals your pride grows, when faith goals are reached you trust grows. 
Ambitious decisions will always cause a wavering soul. Using a perceived ability to achieve an unforseeable outcome. When we are anchored in our abilities and those abilities fail us, we are cast freely among the waves. You will never be truly trusted, because you will be known as ambitious and not faithful. Big things are not given the ambitious, but to the faithful. 

Decisions made in faith will always be solid. Using an unseen force to make up for your inability to achieve an unforseeable outcome. We know our abilties will fail, just as we trust God to make up for our weakness. Though at times we feel that the waves will crash over us, our anchor holds in Christ. A person that can be tossed about, and still trust God will be given a bigger boat. 
When we’re anchored in Christ, we move when He moves. Being anchored doesn’t mean being stationary. God is the master of the sea, the shore and the anchor. The sea is what is happening around us. It’s what we see when we cast our nets, the wind and waves. What people think and say about us while our nets fill up. When God is working under the surface, pushing fish beyond our capacity into our nets. The shore is our rest, it’s what we search for while at sea. The shore can be found two ways, by searching for it or crashing into it. The anchor is what we hold on to when the shore seems far and the sea is rough. 

Near the end of August 2014, I got a word spoken over me to not be anchored. Be mobile and ready to move, God is going to take you lots of places. You’re going to learn lots of things before you start your ministry. A few weeks before that I had committed to God, that I would stay planted where I am as long as He says so. Whether that’s two or ten years. As soon as I heard don’t be anchored, the little man inside of me that actually expresses excitement did a cart wheel. It wasn’t because I didn’t want to be where I was, but because I wanted to move. I wasn’t looking for a way out, but a way into obedience. 
Ever since then I’ve been very careful of what and who I anchor to before I set sail. As well as taking up anchors where need be. Through all this every song or scripture that has anchor in has stood out to me. I began to ask, how do remain unanchored while being anchored in Christ? I found that God was not saying unanchor from me, but from where you are. So often I would be tied off to a place that God did not want me to be. Not even necessarily bad places, just places where God already wanted me to move on. Faithfulness is not just staying no matter what, it’s moving no matter what. No matter how good it feels to stay, when God moves be anchored to Him not the situation. We want to be anchored in Christ, but when He moves we freak out. Because, God can’t move without our permission…right? We say things like, “God I’m not going to me till you move” when He has already moved. We fear our movement will somehow disrupt the shipping channels God has set up. The reality is we can go in any direction we want. So long as we stay anchored in Him, He will pull us back on track when we need to be pulled back. When we keep Christ centered, we can operate with in the radius He has set. Now here is where you think I should say, faithfully operate in a small radius and God will expand it. This is true only for the size net you can cast. The longer you operate within the anchoring of God, the more you learn how He moves and trust Him. Thus the smaller your operational freedom needs to be. Your freedom then is no longer based on your ability, but your trust. 
When I’m anchored in Christ and He moves, I’m just along for the ride. If I were to be anchored to something else as well, I’d be pulled two directions and one of the lines is going to snap. How much I hold on to one will determine the amount of pain caused. Also the one that doesn’t snap is the one I worship. If your line snaps to your anchor in God, the other thing you’re anchored to is not firm enough to hold you. It will not keep you safe from the storm, you are just going to drag it into the storm with you. When you lose hold of your anchor in God, I’m not talking about your salvation. Even though your line may snap that is tied to God, He is still master of the sea and the shore. He just may let you drift at sea a while, before you crash into the shore. Before Christ you didn’t even have boat to float in. You were just drowning. You can spend your life drifting in a life raft or you can learn to set anchor in the Lord. Where your anchor is where you place your trust. The stronger the anchor, the bigger the boat it can handle. Right now I feel as though I can barely handle a paddle boat, but God wants me to capitain a warship. I’ll never learn the open seas until I set sail outside the pond. My prayer is not necessarily smooth sailing, but an unshakable trust in a God bigger than the storm. 
Will you be anchored in your ambitions or your faith? 
Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

